|
Rank: Advanced Bloo Milk Member Groups: Member
Joined: 4/23/2010 Posts: 131
|
Howdy. I haven't posted in a very, very long time but here goes:
In a game recently, several friends swore to me that when a Commander Effect says a follower or ally "gains" an ability or bonus, then it remains even after that commander is dead and removed from the table. Now, this was news to me. I've even doublechecked the rulebook glossary, and it specifically says that, "A commander effect ends immediately when the character with the effect is defeated." But they swear that it has been changed over the years, that the crew who work on the V-sets changed how that works in some kind of V-set FAQ or something. Is this accurate?
The commander in question from our game was the v-set piece ADMIRAL SAUL KARATH. Supposedly followers who "gain" Deceptive from him keep it even after the good admiral has left the battlefield.
|
|
Rank: Destroyer Droid Groups: Member
Joined: 1/11/2024 Posts: 30
|
That rule has not changed. There are some effects that cause abilities to stay even after the giver dies. For example, Camaraderie gives abilities until the end of the skirmish. There are a few commander effects that specify that the effect stays "until the end of the skirmish" such as Yaddle, Jedi Master. As for other SAs that give abilities such as specialization and clan leader, I do not know whether they stay or not.
|
|
Rank: Moderator Groups: Member
, Moderator
Joined: 4/30/2017 Posts: 982 Location: Lower Hutt, New Zealand
|
(According to V-set rules) No, your friends were wrong and Hi-Fives is right. Admiral Saul Karath's commander effect does not continue after he is defeated. The only commander effects in the V-sets that last for the rest of the skirmish are the ones which explicitly say they do on the card. The only special abilities in the V-sets that last for the rest of the skirmish are Camaraderie (the one exception, since its ability text doesn't mention it does) and any which say they do on the card.
|
|
Rank: Advanced Bloo Milk Member Groups: Member
Joined: 4/23/2010 Posts: 131
|
Thank you for the quick replies! Much appreciated!!
|
|
Rank: Wookiee Elite Warrior Groups: Member
Joined: 11/9/2024 Posts: 19
|
Okay how about this, characters that gained force points from Darth Sidious Hologram, do they keep those force points after Darth Sidious dies or moves out of six squares? If they've activated already, and gained the force point, but not spent it, does it stay "banked" on the card like a normal force renewal force point?
I assume that if a character gained force points from GMLS giving out renewal, they wouldn't lose them when he dies, so the same should go for Sidious right?
|
|
Rank: Moderator Groups: Member
, Moderator
Joined: 4/30/2017 Posts: 982 Location: Lower Hutt, New Zealand
|
Correct. Once a character gains a Force point, they keep it until they spend it. Losing Force Renewal (if Sidogram dies or is more than 6 squares away) doesn't change that.
|
|
Guest |